1. What is meant by Prohibitory Orders?

    Prohibitory Orders refer to orders issued by competent authorities prohibiting certain things under various ACTs viz, 1951, Cr.P.C., Police act etc. Prohibitory Orders are issued by C.P. / D.M. under section 37 of B. P. Act 1951. Such orders are valid for a term of 15 days (at a time) and are renewed by the competent issuing authorities from time to time. Prohibitory orders under section 37 referred to above are issued to prohibit :
    a) assembly of 5 or more persons,
    b) Processions of any kind,
    c) Use of loudspeakers, amplifying instruments, musical band and bursting of crackers,
    d) Carrying of arms, cudgels, sticks or lathis, swords, spears, knives, unlicensed guns or any other articles capable of being used for causing physical harm or violence,
    e) Carrying of any corrosive substance or explosive, or carrying or colleting projectlites like stones or other instrument which can be used to cause harm or violence,
    f) Exhibition of effigies, corpses, or figures/figurines, public utterances / loud cries, singing of songs, playing of music,delivery of harangues, use of gestures or mimetic representation, exhibition or dessimination of pictures, symbols,placards or any other objects / things that may, in the opinion of any police, offend against decency/morality or undermine the security of, or tend to overthrow the State

  2. What is the penality for contravention / breach of prohibitory orders under section 37 B.P. Act 1951?

    Section 135 of B.P. Act 1951 provides for penal action for such contravention.